top of page

The Houses That Built Me

*disclaimer: Not all individuals will qualify for each loan type and/or scenario. Please contact me to see if you'd qualify for these loan products and/or discuss your options.


I'll be honest, this article is more for those young first time homebuyers, those newly married couples, or families who are just getting their start in the homeownership world. Those of you who have been homeowners for a while might enjoy this too, and may feel a bit nostalgic while reading it, but it's going to be mainly geared towards those who are just starting out.


From the time I was about three years old, to when I turned eighteen and moved away from home for the first time, I lived in two houses. The first, was a home where I always felt safe, a place where my first group of friends was formed, and a place that still probably has my handprints etched into the concrete out on the backyard basketball court. I still have lifelong friends that live in that neighborhood, and can still picture the view of the mountains from my bedroom window. The second is the home that I grew up and matured in. It's the home where I truly began to understand life's lessons, made mistakes, had some of my favorite memories in, graduated high school, left on a church mission from, and my wife and I even had a wedding reception in the backyard.


A song that always resonated with me growing up was called "The House that Built Me" by Miranda Lambert.


Now, I'll be the first to tell you that Miranda Lambert isn't my favorite musical artist, but when I first heard the lyrics, "Ma'am I know, you don't know me from Adam; but these handprints on the front steps are mine." I was hooked.


She continues painting the picture of the "house that built her" in the next few lines of the song when she sings, "Up those stairs, in that little back bedroom, is where I did my homework and I learned to play guitar." She continues, "I bet you didn't know, that under that live oak, my favorite dog is buried in the yard."


What a vivid rush of memories that ran through my mind as I thought of the homes that I was built in and molded from. I can still picture them now. The sounds, smells, the amazing and even a few far-and-in-between difficult experiences that went on in the midst of those walls.


Miranda Lambert then jumps back even further in her life's story when she describes that her mom cut out pictures of houses for years, followed by, "plans were drawn, concrete poured, nail by nail, and board by board. Daddy gave life to momma's dreams."


She finishes the song by singing, "you leave home and you move on and you do the best you can, I got lost in this 'ole world and forgot who I am. But thought if I could touch this place or feel it, this brokenness inside me might start healing. Out here it's like I'm someone else, I thought that maybe I could find myself. If I could walk around I swear I'll leave, won't take nothing but a memory, from the house that built me."


When your starting out in purchasing a new home, it's important to remember that the home you choose might end up being a home that builds someone and molds their character. It will be a place of fond memories, and a place where the saying "it takes a village to raise a child" will truly take shape.


Don't just buy a house that you're only buying because you like the look of it. Take into consideration the neighborhood, schools, surrounding areas, affordability, safety, comfort and distance from those you love.


Buying a home for the first time is a major step in a person's life. The crazy part is, your decision will either eventually or immediately affect more people than just you.


Who knows, maybe one day your kids will look back on that home, or homes that you've lived in as "The House That Built Me."


*disclaimer: Not all individuals will qualify for each loan type and/or scenario. Please contact me to see if you'd qualify for these loan products and/or discuss your options.


Brayden Ramsay NMLS #1997195

Momentum Loans NMLS # 1606597




10 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page